B & B Handmade Soaps

I have been thinking about making my own batch of luxury handmade soap since last autumn but never really got around to it. But ever since I’ve tried my first set of handmade soaps from Bath & Bloom’s line last Christmas, my interest has been revived. I have read 5 different books on soap making. And hope to be ready to try my first batch next weekend.

So far I’ve had a difficult time finding the main ingredient – lye (sodium hydroxide). I will have to try again tomorrow and see if the local hardware store carries them. Other then that, I am also in need of some essential oils. I already have my favorite peppermint oil from Boot’s. I really like citrus and fruity scents too. But I haven’t done my research on getting my hands on those yet. I also have my own organic aloe vera from my pot I could add too.

But I was really inspired by these scents from the Bath & Bloom line: bamboo charcoal, tumeric honey, lemon grass, and mango rice.

Here is some more info from BATH&BLOOM (including the oriental tea soap pictured above) – “natural soap is made from a cold process with only the finest quality of natural ingredients. With an enrichment of moisture from olive oil, natural vitamin E from rice bran oil and laxurious lather from coconut oil” Althought in my own batch I would like to use more olive oil, aloe vera, and some herbs and summer dried flowers.

ORIENTAL TEA NATURAL SOAP
Oriental tea is renowned for its anti-oxidant and anti-aging properties. Its leaves can be the soften scrub exfoliating the dead skin cell while a fresh and calm scent brings you to a serene state of mind.
Ingredients Aqua, Oryza Sativa (Rice) bran oil, Olea Europaea (Olive) fruit oil, Elaeis Guineensis (Palm) oil, Sodium Hydroxide,Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) oil, Fragrance, Tocopherol (Vitamin E) Acetate, Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaves Powder,

Other cool online soap shops that I love include: jennylane handmade soap & pink planet designs.

1 Comment »

  1. […] Posted by cambree under Art & Design, Business, Crafts   Since I am on a soap making frenzy this month. But it’s taking me much longer to track down the ingredients than I […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

