Amazon Palm Berries

Also called acai berries is all the rage at the health food scene these days. It has also made itself known in the cosmetic industry too. Ikove Amazonian Açaí Berry Shampoo sells 8.5 fl oz for $6.00, described in ad: “Açaí (Euterpe Oleracea): Açaí is the Amazon palm berry, and is a source of natural energy that is harvested in the rainforests of Brazil. It provides a remarkable concentration of antioxidants that help to combat premature aging, such as high quality protein (an almost perfect essential amino acid complex) in conjunction with valuable trace minerals.” I have healthy hair, so I don’t need to worry about it.

But I am interested in either dried acai berries which I can make into tea. Or the powder form I can make into my own cosmetic blends, such as soap or lotions. I found some at Texas Natural Supply – $4 per oz. And Acerola berries (Barbados cherry) powder at $2 per oz. I love acerola, for the vitamin C factor. I need to come up with a recipe soon!

Leave a Reply

