Skincare: Part I

I haven’t shopped at Kiehl’s for at least 5 years now. I stopped because I think they are overpriced and there are also much better products to chose from now. I used to have friends that loved using only Kiehl’s. Of course, they did so because their favorite movie stars raved about the product in magazines. That kind of thinking I just can’t understand. We really need to learn to be more self reliant and learn to understand ourselves better.

At the moment, I am trying to create my very own personal skincare treatment. I’ve decided to see what Kiehl’s had to offer. I am in need of a really good eye cream, one that is made of natural ingredients and contain no parabens either. So I saw this – Creamy Eye Treatment, 0.5 fl oz for $24.50. Wow! With that kind of price you can own most of NYC.

I actually tried to read their list of ingredients, but couldn’t as it was too small (print). But they did suggest these three main ingredients – Avocado oil, beta caratene, and shea butter. I am aware K’s recipe are proprietary. But I can probably come up with my own version. This sounds like so much fun already. Seriously, if I’m already planning to spend at least $50 on eye creams or facial skincare, then I’m able to experiment on my own and create something that would suit me well.

Snowdrift Farms sells many of the ingredients used to make your own skincare and soaps. They even include a recipe too. “The going rate at Kiehl’s in NYC is $22 per 1/2 oz. Snowdrift Farm’s eye cream recipes are even more luxurious — and handmade BY YOU!” This is great and I can’t wait to try it. Thanks Snowdrift Farms.

Eye Potion No. 17

Medium weight undereye cream

Oil Phase

1 oz. aloe butter
1 oz. wheat germ oil
1/2 oz. rose hip seed oil
1 oz. evening primrose oil
2 1/2 oz. avocado oil
35 drops Phenonip

Water Phase

8 oz. (by weight) distilled water or rooibos tea
35 drops wheat protein
2 oz. emulsifying wax

Nutrients Phase

10 drops carrot seed oil
5 drops sea buckthorn
15 drops Vitamin E natural

Melt oils and stir until they are just liquid; add Phenonip. Combine e-wax with water and melt slowly in microwave (or in a double boiler over very low heat).
Do not allow water to boil. Add wheat protein.

I don’t think I will follow the exact recipe here. But I will make a shorter version with the essential butters and oils. I will skip anything that has parabens too. Stay tuned!

This little Q & A is for my friend S who asked: “I am in my early 20’s and have noticed wrinkles around my eye area. Should I start using eye cream now? What eye cream would you suggest?”

The first signs of aging usually show up around your eye area. The skin in our eye area is one of the first to show signs of wrinkle. As this is the thinnest layer of skin on our face. It’s best to start using eye cream in your 20’s. You can start with nice light one for over night use. In the daytime you can use eye cream with SPF 30. Nutrogena makes a great one. And of course you can experiment and try to come up with your own formula using natural ingredients. And don’t tug or pull the eye area either. Just gently pat the cream on with your finger. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

