Skincare: Part II

In the past couple of years I have become much more interested in taking good care of my skin. Especially the skin on my face. I have been blessed with good skin and want to keep it that way. As I am now settling into a new decade, I have found these little freckles on my face becoming more apparent. I have spent my early 20’s hanging out at the beach without much care for my face or skin. But I am lucky, my face isn’t showing much sign of distress or wrinkles (yet). Possibly since I don’t smoke, drink (unless it’s a celebration), and try to eat right and exercise too.

I have read tons of books on skincare and am learning more about the special ingredients used to help fight these blemishes. Milady’s publishes a good book with the list of ingredients and all their benefits/concerns. Some of these natural ingredients that help fight freckles include, mulberry extract, licorice root extract, tamarind fruit extract, aloe vera gel, and rice bran oil. And of course you can also put yogurt or rub a slice of lemon on your face. The lactic acid from the yogurt with gently help fade the freckles. And the citric acid from the lemon will do the same. Many fruits also contain natural AHA’s ( alpha hydroxy) to help reduce the appearance of wrinkles and signs of aging. The fruits include grapes, apples, and watermelon.

Mulberry fruit photo from Ladd Arboretum & Ecology Center. “ It is named for the color of its buds, rather than the color of its fruit.” That answers my question as I notice the berries start off white/greenish and then ripen to red, and finally deep purple. Mulberries are one of my favorite trees.

Leave a Reply

