Caledonia

When I first heard the song “Caledonia” sung by Celtic Women, I thought it was such a pretty song. Caledonia may look something like this serene and green pasture in an English countryside. But Caledonia could be any special place we all call home. Recently I heard the original version by Dougie MacLean and it brought back memories of my father who passed away a couple of years ago. I somehow feel his presence when I listen to this particular song. I could not ask for a more kind, caring, and understanding father. I miss him dearly but know that we will meet up again someday.  I am the lucky one to have had him in my life.
england1
Photo from Hilton Hotels England & Scotland
“Oh, but let me tell you that I love you
That I think about you all the time
Caledonia you’re calling me
And now I’m going home
If I should become a stranger
You know that it would make me more than sad
Caledonia’s been everything
I’ve ever had”

There are some nice Youtube music videos of this song by Celtic Thunder and Celtic Women too.

2 Comments »

  1. Gina said

    Thanks for sharing such beautiful songs, I especially like the one sang by the Celtic Women, it is beautiful. I think it’s good to have a special song to remind us of our passed loved one, I also have one that I used to listen to while my mom was ill, and now that she has passed, I often find myself listening to that song when I miss her.

  2. cambree said

    Your welcome! Music and songs do make life much more enjoyable and also nostalgic. In a good way 🙂

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

