I love Miele Solaris

I have never really heard about Miele vacuum cleaners or anything until I had the chance to use one recently. I love it so much, I have to say “thank you” to the makers of these great machines. They have turned my least favorite household chore and made it so much fun.

The only time I’ve seen or heard of Mieles is at the coffee shop, or the maker of the espresso machines. I would never think Italian espresso maker equates to German vacuum cleaners. I am very surprise to find out they also make dishwashers and laundry machines too.

I might have known more about Miele if there were more advertisement for Miele in the U.S. market. But if you go to Youtube, you will find some really neat Miele commercials from Europe.

My first experience with the Miele Solaris canister vacuum began last month. I usually enjoy doing household chores, such as laundry or dishes. But my least favorite is to vacuum since the machine I had was so noisy, hard to move around with, and could not reach difficult corners or underneath the kitchen table. Not only that, but my eyes and throat would itch and burn after each use (allergy flare-ups).

Then S let me use his old Miele canister vacumn and I was hooked on the spot. I was surprise at how much fun and nice it is to vacumn now. Not only are they fun to use, but nice to look at too. I would never thought I would consider how “cute” this vacumn cleaner looks. The size is convenient for those that live in smaller homes.

The Meile Solaris is compact, light, quiet, and moves wonderfully in tiny corners and hallway. My eyes and throat did not burn or itch after using it. The Miele is described to come standard with the Active HEPA filter captures allergens like dust mite feces and pollen and conforms to the stringent European EN1822 filtration standard, trapping 99.99% of all particles as tiny as 0.3 microns.This filter lasts as long as 5 dustbags. It is definitley a great choice for those with asthma problems.

Miele vacuums may not be cheap, but they do last a long time (20 years as stated by the manufacturer). They retail from $600 and up. I think they are really worth it. And it is much better then buying cheap disposable junk which will break down easity and end up in landfills. The Miele is not just good for you, but the environment too.

This is the one I’m getting (used). “Miele S514 Mango Red Direct Connect Vacuum Cleaner – With the Miele S514 being stylish, powerful and compact; Miele continues to show their persistence in quality German engineering. The Miele S514 has impressive features including quick-disconnect wands, excellent maneuverability and an ergonomic handles to make your vacuuming easy and enjoyable.”

The story behind Miele is actually very interesting. Here is what I gathered at achooallergy.com

“Miele” actually means “honey” in Italian, but the company got its name from founder Carl Miele. Miele founded his company in Gutersloh, Germany in 1899, and it’s still a family-owned business. They produced their first vacuum cleaner, the Melior, in 1927.”

“The leading principle of the Miele company philosophy states: “Our aim is to manufacture and market durable products to the highest quality standards, using economical and ecologically compatible processes which not only demonstrate a high level of performance, efficiency and safety, but also place the least possible burden on the environment.”

So before you decide to go out and purchase the typical Dyson, Eureka, or Hoover, please consider a Miele. It will probably be one of the best decisions you’ll be making. And there really is much to love about this neat company. My favorite part is that they are still a family-owned and family-run company since 1899. And they have not lost their originally Miele motto “Immer Besser” or “Forever Better” for the last 109 years. I hope they continue on the road of making great consumer products.

2 Comments »

  1. Gina said

    I’ve never heard about this brand before and it sounds very good, I will definitely keep this in mind when I’m in the market for a new vacuum. I’ve a small Bissell that’s not doing a good job, and a Hoover Steam Vac that is heavy and difficult to use, and you’re right, it’s a pain to vacuum when the machine is heavy and loud.

  2. cambree said

    Hi Gina,
    The only thing that would stop people from getting the Miele might be the price. But you can still get them online and used ones are just as good. As these Miele are built to last 20 years (if not more!). Btw, thanks for the visit.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment